What is GDPR?
What type of personal data do you mean?
According to the law:
Natural persons may be associated with online identifiers provided by their devices, applications, tools and protocols, such as internet protocol addresses, cookie identifiers or other identifiers such as radio frequency identification tags. This may leave traces which, in particular when combined with unique identifiers and other information received by the servers, may be used to create profiles of the natural persons and identify them.
(Which basically means that anything from a cookie file or IP to a user’s username and email are considered personal data.)
What changes does this law bring for my site?
According to the law, sites are required to have consent in place from each user, and they are unable to store or process a user’s personal data without their consent. As such, we are introducing the following changes and functionality:
- Upon visiting your site, users will see a ‘Cookie Files’ bar, informing them which cookies are critical for the site to function and which are optional. At this point, the user consents to accept cookie files from us
- For existing users: Once an existing user logs in to his/her account (or tries to provide personal data without logging in, as described below) he/she will be prompted to provide his/her consent in the same way as a new user. Yes, this is also a one-time action.
- All consents will be stored as specified by the law with all applicable data, i.e. time of consent, what was agreed to, what we asked when consent was granted, etc.
- Users will have the option to permanently delete their account. This means that users can request that all of their personal data is erased at any time.
- User will be able to revoke consent at any time
- Sites will have a page explaining how we use personal data and which data is being collected and why. Same goes for cookie files.
Changes in your Control Panel (Site Admin):
- Since according to the law we are not allowed to store and process users' personal data without having consent, all existing users' data will be hidden from performers.
That means that for all existing users, subscribers, etc., that have not yet provided their consent, you will see their user ID instead of their username, and a personal data message instead of their email. Once consent has been granted you will see their username and email as you did previously.
- If an existing user that has provided consent earlier revokes their consent or requests their personal data is deleted you will start seeing their user ID and personal data message instead of their username and email
- Please be advised that these changes to your Control Panel will only be applied to users from the European Union.